Former CIA Jeffrey Sterling: Letter From Prison

“For now, I’m confined to the black TV room at the Federal Correctional Institution in Englewood, Colorado. When I am free, I don’t want to feel that I’m merely going from one prison to another.”

Former CIA Jeffrey Sterling

Jsterling

Former CIA Jeffrey Sterling

 

REMINDER: Jeffrey Alexander Sterling is an American lawyer and former CIA employee who was arrested, charged, and convicted of violating the Espionage Act for revealing details about Operation Merlin to journalist James Risen.

In May 2015, Sterling was sentenced to 3½ years in prison and thus set for release in 2018.

RELATED POST: Prison Officials Respond to CIA Whistleblower Jeffrey Sterling’s Health Complaint

‘It is a strenuous, unceasing effort to cope with the ordeal of being incarcerated at a federal prison. I find myself identifying with the title character from Shakespeare’s “Richard II” when he laments his own effort to adjust to confinement by wondering, “I have been studying how I may compare this prison where I live unto the world.” I do my best to resist the thought that prison is a reflection of our society, but the comparisons are unavoidable. Unlike “Richard II,” my “studying” has not been so much a comparison as an unhappy realization.’

REFERENCES

I Was a CIA Whistleblower. Now I’m a Black Inmate. Here’s How I See American Racism. The Intercept Sept. 13 2016

This entry was posted in CIA, Jeffrey Sterling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

